Open Air Concert
Special Concerts

Open Air Concert

Hradčany Square


Steven Mercurio conductor
Czech National Symphony Orchestra


Ludwig van Beethoven – Symphony No. 5

Introducing quite possibly the most famous four notes in musical history. No matter how many times you’ve heard it, whether at home or in a concert hall, this motif has the ability to stupefy again and again, almost as if it were hitting your eardrums for the very first time.

Performing Beethoven’s “Fate” can never be a commonplace affair, though the backdrop of Prague Castle offers an extra layer of wow factor to the work. And the headquarters of the Czech head of state could tell a few of its own tales about Beethoven’s alleged description of “fate knocking at the door”.

Hradčanské náměstí

Photo by VitVit