4th Subscription Concert
2023 Season Concert Season Classical

4th Subscription Concert

Municipal House, Smetana Hall


Czech National Symphony Orchestra
Steven Mercurio, conductor
Jan Hasenöhrl, trumpet



Photo: Luca Rossetti


Antonín Dvořák – Symphony No. 8 in G major Op. 88 “English"
Nino Rota – The Sweet Life (La Dolce Vita)
Ennio Morricone – The Hateful Eight (Oscar - Best Original Score)
Vince Mendoza – To the Edge of Longing (Grammy Music Award)
Bobby Shew – Nadalin
Joe Zawinul, arr. Lalo Schifrin – Birdland

The programme for this concert, which celebrates the 30th anniversary of our orchestra, will take a trip back in time to music led by great conductors Zdeněk Košler, Libor Pešek, Paul Freeman, Ennio Morricone, Marcello Rota, Vince Mendoza and Steven Mercurio. All have dedicated a considerable amount of time to the orchestra, helping to shape its development, while also bringing us the glamour and glitz of Oscar and Grammy awards.

A former student of Leonard Bernstein, our current Music Director Steven Mercurio is also a composer and arranger. You can look forward to hearing his work, Mercurial Ouverture, dedicated to the CNSO during this concert. We trust that the other works will bring back wonderful memories of the various stages of our ensemble’s existence.