II. Concert
27th Season

II. Concert

Municipal House, Smetana Hall


Laura van der Heijden​​​​​​​ violoncello
Ilya Mashkevich conductor
Czech National Symphony Orchestra


Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky – Romeo and Juliet, Fantasy Overture
Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky – Variations on a Rococo Theme

— Intermission —

Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky – Symphony No. 6, “Pathetique”

“I love it like no other of my previous compositions”
(Pyotr Ilych Tchaikovsky on his sixth symphony)

The second subscription concerto is an opportunity to ride on the musical ebbs and flows synonymous with high romanticism, a style in which Tchaikovsky undoubtedly plays the lead.

The sixth symphony is considered Pyotr Ilych Tchaikovsky’s most controversial work and is also the last completed work by the celebrated Russian composer to be performed on stage before his sudden death. Its final movement stands out for being unusually long, as such bearing resemblance to a requiem.

In terms of artistic development, who better than conductor Ilya Mashkevich to transmit the composer’s ideas on the score to audience members. The solo part in the Rococo variations will be performed by Laura van der Heijden.