IV. Concert
28th season

IV. Concert

Municipal House, Smetana Hall


Original dates of the concert January 20, 2021 and June 29, 2021.

We will inform all visitors who have purchased tickets for this concert via e-mail or telephone.

Your CNSO team, ticket@cnso.cz


Steven Mercurio – conductor
Czech National Symphony Orchestra


Gustav Mahler – Symphony No. 4
Maurice Ravel – La Valse
Maurice Ravel – Daphnis et Chloé – Suite No. 2


The performance of Mahler's 4th Symphony will allow the Czech National Symphony Orchestra to fulfil the rather agreeable duty as part of the subscription cycle to present at least one large work by an author, whose complete recordings rank as one of our studios greatest achievements. Thus listeners will find themselves on the imaginary “home turf” of the CNSO and Steven Mercurio, a great admirer of the composer.

After the break, we can look forward to two compositions by the French composer Maurice Ravel, known primarily as a representative of Impressionism: La Valse subtitled "Dance Poem" commissioned by the Russian choreographer Sergei Dagilev in its version for orchestra as well as Ravel’s most extensive work – the score to the ballet Daphnis et Chloé.